Top 10 largest counties in Kenya

Top 10 largest counties in Kenya

Turkana Turkana is the largest county in Kenya in size with approximate geographical extent coverage of 68,680.3 square kilometers. 64, 782.3 square kilometers of this area is covered by dry land, while the other 6, 805.5 square kilometers is covered by water. Turkana is approximately 13% of the entire country. In the coming years, it is believed that Turkana will be among the wealthiest regions due to the vast deposits of oil beneath.

2. Marsabit The second-largest county in terms of geographical size is Marsabit. Marsabit is approximately 530 kilometers north of Kenya’s capital city, Nairobi. It covers an estimated 70, 691.2 square kilometers in dimension. Marsabit is bordered by three other counties, which are, Turkana to it’s West, Wajir to the east, and Isiolo to the South.

3. Wajir In 3rd is Wajir situated in the North-Eastern part of Kenya. The county is bordered by Garissa to the South, Mandera to the North, Ethiopia to the North East, Marsabit to the West, and Somalia to the East. Wajir has an estimated surface area of 56, 685.8 square kilometers.

4. Garissa Garissa is the 2nd region situated in the North-Eastern part of the country that holds a position in the rank of the largest counties in the entire country. In surface area, Garissa covers a total of 45, 720.20 square kilometers. Garissa borders Tana River to the West, Wajirto the North, Lamu to the South, Somalia to the East, and Isiolo to the North West.

5. Tana River Tana River in the coastal region of the country comes in position five in the list of Kenya’s largest counties. Tana River occupies an area of 35,375.80 square kilometers.

6. Isiolo Isiolo covers a geographical area of 25, 336.10 square kilometers, and ranks 6th in the top ten list of largest counties in Kenya.

7. Kitui In position seven is Kitui, which has area coverage of 24, 385.10 square kilometers.

8. Kajiado Kajiado ranks in position eight nationally and positions two in rift valley region with a surface area of 21, 292.70 square kilometers.

9. Samburu Samburu has a surface area of 20, 182.50 square kilometers. READ ALSO: Kenya ranked fifth richest country in Africa

10. Narok Image: Source: UGC In position ten of the counties with the largest geographical size is Narok, with a surface area of 17, 921.20 square kilometers. Although we cannot offer details of every county in terms of geographical size, it is imperative to note that the smallest county in Kenya is Mombasa, and it has a surface area of 219 square kilometers.